Teachwire Logo
Book reviews

The Invisible Boy

The Invisible Boy

About the Book

Author: Alyssa Hollingsworth

Age Range: 7-11 Years

Publisher: Piccadilly Press

Price: £6.99

Review

Twelve-year-old budding journalist and Superman fanatic Nadia has discovered a new and dangerous secret: she’s lonely.

Then something happens that changes everything – she meets Eli, who she suspects may be a superhero.

Something about Eli’s family is very strange – is her new friend hiding his own secrets?

This powerful novel about slavery, friendship and standing up for what is right will appeal to UKS2 readers who enjoyed Refugee Boy or The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas.

Set in America, it’s a book that is full of hope and adventure, but also handles difficult real-world issues such as child labour trafficking and seeing the ‘invisible’ people that surround us with an impressive lightness of touch.

Chapters are separated by cartoon-strip style illustrations, drawn by Deborah Lee, and the book ends with a list of useful discussion questions to guide classroom debate.

Would you like your book reviewed by us?