As always, this year’s panel includes children’s authors, literacy experts and champions of reading for pleasure, to ensure that every title is assessed for its potential in the classroom as well as for reading at home - and they can’t wait to start reading!

Dame Esther Rantzen (judging the non-fiction category) is a journalist, presenter, and founder of Childline and The Silver Line.
Ade Edmondson is a comedian, actor, musician, television presenter and author (Tilly and the Time Machine and Junkyard Jack and the Horse That Talked are both published by Puffin).
Brough Girling is co-founder of the Readathon charity. A qualified teacher, he has written over 30 children’s books, broadcast widely and lectured in children’s reading from Canada to Cairo. He was head of the Children’s Book Foundation in London and founding editor of the Young Telegraph.
Lizzie Jones heads up the National Literacy Trust’s Young Readers Programme – the charity’s flagship reading for pleasure programme for primary school children.
Emily Gravett is an author-illustrator who has twice scooped the prestigious CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal. Her book Cyril and Pat was runner-up in the 2019 Teach Primary Book Awards and won the inaugural BookTrust StoryTime Prize. October 2020 will see the publication of Too Much Stuff (Two Hoots) and the illustrated Quidditch Through The Ages by JK Rowling (Bloomsbury).
Lisa Thompson is an award-winning author of novels for children, including the acclaimed The Goldfish Boy and more recently The Boy Who Fooled the World (both published by Scholastic). Lisa has sold over 100,000 copies of her book in the UK.

“I am so thrilled to be a part of the judging panel for the Teach Primary Book Award 2020 and I can't wait to dive into the shortlist. We need books more than ever right now and I'm looking forward to sharing these new stories and celebrating the joy of reading.”

- Lisa Thomson