Early Years Excellence is Teach Early Years’ industry award scheme

Early Years Excellence Awards 2018
Nominations open in November!

View 2017 Winners

About the Awards

Early Years Excellence is Teach Early Years magazine’s awards scheme – a celebration of the breadth and quality of our sector’s educational and professional development resources. It offers suppliers, manufacturers, publishers and service providers the chance to have their most innovative and effective products and publications recognised and shared with those they are designed to benefit.

This year, the scheme’s 12 categories will once again cover key areas of learning and development, varied age groups and settings, and special educational needs, as well as continuing professional development and picture books. Our winners will be chosen by an expert panel of early years leaders, educators and authors, and to ensure only the most-deserving resources triumph, entry is completely free.

Why get involved?

Early Years Excellence launched for the first time in January 2017, and the response from the sector was fantastic: more than 300 products, services and publications were nominated, from which our respected judging panel selected 38 winners, handing out five-, four- and three-star prizes in each category.

Our award winners were showcased in a 24-page Awards Special in June 2017, the digital version of which can be downloaded here, and are receiving ongoing coverage in Teach Early Years, and through our social media channels. In 2018 we’ll be doing even more to share the success of those who emerge triumphant!

How to Enter

Putting yourself in the running for an Early Years Excellence award is easy. Simply nominate the products, resources or publications you would like to enter, supplying as much supporting information about their merits as you can. It's completely free of charge, meaning a level playing field for everyone in the sector.


Fill in the form on this website for each product / resource / publication you wish to enter.


Five finalists will be shortlisted for each category for assessment by our judging panel.


Our judges will select three winners, awarding five-, four- and three-star prizes.

You will find a full list of categories and the criteria that applies to them on this website when the nominations period opens. You may find that a product or resource is suited to more than one category; in this case, simply choose the one you feel is most appropriate. (We reserve the right to move entries to alternative categories based upon the information provided during the nominations process.)

The nominations period will open in November 2017 - check back for updates soon!