Teachwire Logo

Winners Announced for New Children’s Fiction Awards 2016

Judges include comedian Lucy Porter, authors Clare Mackintosh and David Melling, and Mumsnet editor Sarah Crown

The winners of this year’s New Children’s Fiction Awards, from Teach Primary and Teach Reading and Writing magazines, have now been announced. A panel of six judges, including best selling authors Clare Mackintosh and David Melling; mumsnet editor Sarah Crown; and comedian Lucy Porter, selected a winner and a runner up for each of three categories. The full list of results can be found below.

"It was such a joy to read these amazing stories"
Clare Mackintosh, judge

“Being a judge for these awards was so inspiring and incredibly difficult. Some books were hilarious, some incredibly moving, and many managed to combine both of these qualities at once. I am sure that all of them will remain firm favourites in our house for years to come.”
Lucy Porter, judge

The Judges

  • Brough Girling
    Founder of Readathon

  • Clare Argar
    Programme Manager, National Literacy Trust Young Readers Programme

  • Sarah Crown
    editor of Mumsnet, and former editor of Guardian Books

  • Clare Mackintosh
    bestselling author of I Let You Go

  • David Melling
    children's author/illustrator

  • Lucy Porter
    comedian writer parent